Letters to Leader (part V)

Dear Leader,

I am overjoyed to hear of your recent achievements. This is certainly a milestone worth remembering. Even more than your accomplishments, I am delighted to hear how your relationship with God grows daily. It is one thing to be equipped in skills and another to be equipped spiritually for this new chapter of life you’re entering. I know God has prepared you well as you take a new step toward God’s calling on your life.

Knowing that you are leaving soon, I have one last letter to write you. As the weeks you have left slowly fade away, remember to finish well. Time is a gift that should not be squandered. How you spend your time will determine how you finish. I suggest that you make people your priority. People come before programs and property; they are cherished most by God and so we would do well to do the same. Therefore, be intentional with how you spend your time with people. You have made an impact on those around you. But what kind of impact will you leave? It may be wise to ask yourself now, how will I leave these people better than I found them?

Those who finish a race well, run completely through the finish line without slowing down until they have crossed. Others make the mistake of slowing down when they see the end, failing to finish with full force. The people you’re impacting and influencing do not deserve someone who is going to slow down in the final 100 meters of the race. They do not deserve someone who takes a passive back seat in the last few weeks of their time together. They are looking to you, to see how you finish. How you finish will determine how others begin. Finish strong. Finish well.

In 2 Timothy 4:6-7, Paul writes Timothy, “For I am already being poured out as a drink offering, and the time of my departure has come. I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.” Whether God is calling us into new chapters in life or He is calling us home, I pray that when we reflect on the lives we’ve had the opportunity to impact, we can confidently echo Paul’s words. I pray this for you Leader. I pray consistently that God would use you in mighty ways not only in the future but even now in the lives of those around you. May God’s Name and His Kingdom be glorified through you. I pray that you would finish well.

In Him,

Your Servant

Leave a Reply

